Anne Melville


Anne Melville was the pseudonym of Margaret Edith Newman, born in 1926 in Middlesex. She was educated at Harrow County School for girls and gained a B.A and M.A from St. Hugh’s College, Oxford.

Before writing, she worked a variety of jobs including teaching in Egypt, editing a children’s magazine in London, and advising the Citizen’s Advice Bureau in Twickenham. She published her first novel as Margaret Newman, a mystery novel entitled Murder to Music.

Newman continued publishing novels until her death in 1998, under a variety of pseudonyms and encompassing multiple genres. As Anne Melville, she focused on historical novels, including the epic wartime saga Debutante. Over the course of her career she published fifty-five novels in romance, mystery, historical fiction and children’s.


The Lorimer Line (1977)

The Lorimer Legacy (1979)

Lorimers at War (1980)

Lorimers in Love (1981)

The Last of the Lorimers (1987)

Lorimer Loyalties (1987)

The House of Hardie (1987)

Grace Hardie (1988)

The Hardie Inheritance (1990)

The Dangerfield Diaries (1990)

The Tantivy Trust (1992)

A Clean Break (1993)

The Russian Tiara (1994)

Standing Alone (1995)

The Longest Silence (1996)

Role Play (1996)

The Eyes of the World (1998)

Home Run (1999)

Debutante (1999)

Snapshots (1990)

Just What I Wanted (1997)

Unto the Fourth Generation (1986)

Lochandar (1988)

Titles from Anne Melville