Beryl Kingston

Twitter Facebook Website
Agora Books > Authors > Beryl Kingston

Beryl Kingston is the author of 30 novels with over a million copies sold. She has been a writer since she was 7 when she started producing poetry. She was evacuated to Felpham at the start of WWII, igniting an interest in one-time resident poet William Blake which later inspired her novel The Gates of Paradise. She was an English teacher from 1952 until 1985 when she became a full-time writer after her debut novel, Hearts and Farthings, became a bestseller. Kingston continued writing bestsellers for the next 14 years with titles ranging from family sagas to modern stories and historical novels. She currently lives in West Sussex and has three children, five grandchildren, and ten great-grandchildren.



Hearts and Farthings (1985)

Kisses and Ha’pennies (1986)

A Time to Love (1987)

London Pride (1990)

War Baby (1991)

Two Silver Crosses (1992)

A Stitch in Time (1995) (previously published as Alive and Kicking)

Avalanche of Daisies (1998)

Suki (2001) (previously published as Only Young and Only Human)

Gates of Paradise (2006)

Hearts of Oak (2010) ( previously published as Girl on the Orlop Deck)

Off the Rails (2011)


The Easter Empire Trilogy

Tuppenny Times (1988)

Fourpenny Flyer (1990)

Sixpenny Stalls (1990)


The Octavia Trilogy

Octavia (2007)

Octavia’s War (2009)

The Internet Revolutionary (2011)


The Jackson Family Saga

Everybody’s Somebody (2017)

Citizen Armies (2019)


Maggie’s Boy (1994)

Laura’s Way (1996)

Gemma’s Journey (1997)

Neptune’s Daughter (2005)

Francesca and the Mermaid (2015)

Lifting the Curse (1980)

A Family at War (2015)

Titles from Beryl Kingston