H. R. F. Keating

Facebook Website Goodreads
Agora Books > Authors > H. R. F. Keating

H. R. F. Keating was one of Britain’s most highly acclaimed crime fiction writers, known predominantly for his series of novels featuring Inspector Ghote of the Mumbai Criminal Investigation Department. Educated at Merchant Taylor’s School in London, Keating wrote his first story at the age of eight, and went on to twice win the Crime Writers’ Association Gold Dagger Award for Best Novel.

A graduate of Trinity College, Dublin, Keating moved to London to work as a journalist for The Daily Telegraph before reviewing crime novels for The Times for fifteen years. However, writing eventually became his full-time profession. In addition to his crime novels, he wrote non-fiction and edited numerous books in the crime genre, and also completed a biography of Dame Agatha Christie, entitled Agatha Christie: First Lady of Crime.

Keating’s contribution to crime fiction was significant and spanned over forty years: publishing twenty-six books following Inspector Ghote of the Mumbai Police, alongside an abundance of standalone or other series fiction. His later novels focus on UK police detectives whose human weaknesses adversely affect their work.

Alongside writing, Keating served as Chairman of the Crime Writers’ Association and of the Society of Authors, and was elected President of the Detection Club in 1987. He was a fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, and received the George N. Dove Award and Cartier Diamond Dagger Award in 1995 and 1996, respectively, for outstanding services to crime literature. He died in March 2011 at the age of eighty-four.


Death and the Visiting Firemen (1973)

Zen There Was Murder (1963)

A Rush on the Ultimate (1982)

The Dog It Was That Died  (1968)

Death of a Fat God (1966)

Is Skin-Deep, Is Fatal, Dutton (New York, NY), 1965.

A Remarkable Case of Burglary (1976)

The Rich Detective (1993)

The Good Detective (1995)

The Soft Detective (1998)

The Bad Detective (1999)

Jack, the Lady Killer (1999)

The Governess 1983.

The Man of Gold (1985)

Into the Valley of Death (1986)

The Hard Detective (2000)

A Detective in Love (2002)

A Detective Under Fire (2004)

The Dreaming Detective (2004)

A Detective at Death’s Door (2005)

One Man and His Bomb (2006)

The Perfect Murder (1983)

Inspector Ghote’s Good Crusade (1966)

Inspector Ghote Caught in Meshes (1985)

Inspector Ghote Hunts the Peacock (1985)

Inspector Ghote Plays a Joker (1984)

Inspector Ghote Breaks an Egg (1985)

Inspector Ghote Goes by Train (1972)

Inspector Ghote Trusts the Heart (1973)

Bats Fly Up for Inspector Ghote (1975)

Filmi, Filmi, Inspector Ghote (1977)

Inspector Ghote Draws a Line (1979)

The Murder of the Maharajah (1980)

Go West, Inspector Ghote (1981)

The Sheriff of Bombay (1984)

Mrs. Craggs: Crimes Cleared Up (1985)

Under a Monsoon Cloud (1986)

The Body in the Billiard Room (1987)

Dead on Time (1989)

The Iciest Sin (1990)

Cheating Death (1994)

Doing Wrong (1994)

Asking Questions (1996)

Bribery, Corruption Also (1999)

Breaking and Entering (2001)

Majumdar Uncle (2003)


Titles from H. R. F. Keating