Iain Ballantyne

Iain Ballantyne
Twitter Website Goodreads
Agora Books > Authors > Iain Ballantyne

Although he has written several naval history books, including those on the Second World War and the Cold War, Iain Ballantyne has, during the course of his career as a journalist, editor, and author, also covered the activities of land forces. Those assignments took him to Kuwait, Oman, Northern Ireland, Bosnia, the Czech Republic, Latvia, and Hong Kong, sometimes during times of conflict.

Iain has visited WW2 battlefields in company with those who fought there as young men, while also spending hours in conversation with Arnhem veterans. As a teenager, Iain embarked on an expedition to follow the course of the Rhine, including a pilgrimage to Oosterbeek and Arnhem. He retraced the route of the British Airborne soldiers in 1944 as they tried to take the famous ‘bridge too far’. Arnhem: Ten Days in The Cauldron is his second title for Agora Books, following on from Bismarck: 24 Hours to Doom (2016).



Plymouth Warships with Syd Goodman (1998)

Warspite: Warships of the Royal Navy (2000)

also published as Warspite: From Jutland Hero to Cold War Warrior (2010)

HMS London: Warships of the Royal Navy (2002)

Strike from the Sea: The Royal Navy & United States Navy at War in the Middle East (2004)

HMS Victory: Warships of the Royal Navy (with Jonathan Eastland) (2005)

also published as HMS Victory – First Rate 1765 (2011)

and as Victory: From Fighting the Armada to Trafalgar and Beyond (2013)

HMS Rodney: Warships of the Royal Navy (2008)

also published as HMS Rodney: Slayer of the Bismarck and D-Day Saviour (2012)

Killing the Bismarck: Destroying the Pride of Hitler’s Fleet (2010)

Hunter Killers: The Dramatic Untold Story of the Royal Navy’s Most Secret Service (2013)

Bismarck: 24 Hours to Doom (2016)

The Deadly Trade: The Complete History of Submarine Warfare (2018)

also published as as The Deadly Deep: The Definite History of Subarmine Warfare (2018)

Arnhem: Ten Days in The Cauldron (2019)

Bismarck: 24 Hours to Doom (80th Anniversary Edition) (2021)



Titles from Iain Ballantyne