Jane Aiken Hodge

Agora Books > Authors > Jane Aiken Hodge

Jane Aiken Hodge was born in Massachusetts, but moved with her family to East Sussex in Britain when she was three years old. After reading English in Somerville College, Oxford, she moved to the US to undertake a second degree at Radcliffe College. Whilst she was there, she spent time as a civil servant and worked for Time Magazine before returning to the UK to focus on her career as a novelist. In 1972 she became a British citizen. She is the daughter of the Pulitzer prize-winning poet, Conrad Aiken.

Aiken Hodge is known for her works of historical romance. In a career spanning nearly fifty years, she published over thirty novels, exploring contemporary settings and the detective genre in her later life. She died in 2009, aged ninety-two.



Maulever Hall (1964)

The Adventurers (1965)

Watch the Wall, My Darling (1966)

Here Comes a Candle (1967)

The Winding Stair (1968)

Marry in Haste (1969)

Greek Wedding (1970)

Strangers in Company (1973)

Shadow of a Lady (1973)

Rebel Heriess (1975)

Red Sky at Night Lover’s Delight (1977)

Last Act (1979)

Polonaise (1988)

First Night (1990)

Leading Lady (1990)

Windover (1992)

Escapade (1993)

Whispering (1995)

Bride of Dreams (1996)

Caterina (1999)

All for Love aka Savannah Purchase (1971)

Judas Flowering (1976)

Runaway Bride (1976)

Wide is the Water (1981)

The Lost Garden (1982)

One Way to Venice (1974)

Secret Island (1985)

Unsafe Hands (1997)

Susan in America (1998)

A Death in Two Parts (2000)

Deathline (2003)

Only a Novel: The Double Life of Jane Austen (1972)

The Private World of Georgette Heyer (1984)

Passion & Principle: Loves and Live of Regency Women (1996)

Titles from Jane Aiken Hodge