Nicolas Freeling

Agora Books > Authors > Nicolas Freeling

Nicolas Freeling (March 3, 1927 – July 20, 2003), was a British crime novelist, best known as the author of the van der Valk series of detective novels. Freeling’s The King of the Rainy Country received a 1967 Edgar Award, from the Mystery Writers of America, for Best Novel. He also won the Gold Dagger of the Crime Writers’ Association, and France’s Grand Prix de Littérature Policière. In 1968 his novel Love in Amsterdam was adapted as the film Amsterdam Affair directed by Gerry O’Hara and starring Wolfgang Kieling as van Der Valk.



A Dressing of Diamonds (1974)
What are the Bugles Blowing For? (1975)
Sabine (1976)
Lake Isle (1976)
The Night Lords (1978)
Castang’s City (1980)
Wolfnight (1982)
The Back of the North Wind (1983)
No Part in Your Death (1984)
Cold Iron (1986)
Lady Macbeth (1988)
Not as Far as Velma (1989)
Those in Peril (1990)
Flanders Sky (1992)
“You Who Know”(1994)
The Seacoast of Bohemia (1994)
A Dwarf Kingdom (1996)

Love in Amsterdam (1962), aka Death in Amsterdam
Because of the Cats (1963)
Gun Before Butter (1963)
Double-Barrel (1964)
Criminal Conversation (1965)
The King of the Rainy Country (1966)
Strike Out Where Not Applicable (1967)
Tsing-Boum! (1969)
The Lovely Ladies (1971)
A Long Silence (1972)
Sand Castles (1989)
The Widow (1979)

Valparaiso (1964)
The Dresden Green (1966)
This is the Castle (1968)
Gadget (1977)
A City Solitary (1984)
One More River (1998)
Some Day Tomorrow (1999)
The Janeites (2002)

The Kitchen (1970)
Cook Book (1972)
Criminal Convictions (1994)
The Village Book (2001)
The Kitchen and the Cook (2002)






Titles from Nicolas Freeling