Phyllis Bentley

Phyllis Bentley
Agora Books > Authors > Phyllis Bentley

Phyllis Eleanor Bentley, OBE, was an English novelist.

The youngest child of a mill owner, she grew up in Halifax in the West Riding of Yorkshire, and was educated at Halifax High School for Girls and Cheltenham Ladies’ College. During World War I she worked in the munitions industry. After the war, she returned to her native Halifax where she taught English and Latin.

In 1918 she published her first work, a collection of short stories entitled The World’s Bane, after which she published several poor-selling novels until the publication in March 1932 of her best-known work, Inheritance, set against the background of the development of the textile industry in the West Riding, which received widespread critical acclaim and ran through twenty-three impressions by 1946, making her the first successful English regional novelist since Thomas Hardy and his Wessex. Two further novels followed in 1946 and 1966, forming a trilogy, and, in 1967, Inheritance was filmed by Granada TV.

In 1949 she was awarded an honorary DLitt from Leeds University; in 1958 she became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature; and in 1970 was awarded an OBE.



Environment (1922)
Cat in the Manger (1923)
The Spinner of the Years (1928)
The Partnership (1928)
Carr (1929)
Trio (1930)
A Modern Tragedy (1934)
Freedom Farewell (1936)
Manhold (1941)
The English Regional Novel (1942)
Noble in Reason (1955)
Crescendo (1958)
Sheep May Safely Graze (1972)

Inheritance (1932)
The Rise of Henry Morcar (1946)
A Man Of His Time (1966)

The House of Moreys (1953)
Gold Pieces (1968)
Chain of Witnesses: The Cases of Miss Phipps (2014)

The World’s Bane (1918)
The Whole of the Story (1935)
Tales of West Riding (1974)

The Brontës (1947)
The Young Brontës (1960)
O Dreams O Destinations (1962)
The Brontës and Their World (1969)

Titles from Phyllis Bentley