Appleby Talks

Appleby Talks
Purchase Now ›
Michael Innes
24 August 2018
Agora Books

Appleby Talks is part of Michael Innes’ Inspector Appleby mystery series.

A collection of witty, at times absurd, but always entertaining short stories from one of the most esteemed writers of Classic Crime.

Spanning Inspector Appleby’s cases from his youth to his time as a respected detective of Scotland Yard, these twenty-three short mysteries are sure to delight fans of Innes’ literary comic crime.

Told by the fireside over tea, or at a pub washed down with a pint, this collection featuring ‘Dead Man’s Shoes’ is worth being savoured.

First published in 1954 as Appleby Talking.


‘Intelligently told, witty and clever. True classic crime’ — Reader Review

‘Mr Innes is in a class by himself among detective story writers.’ — Times Literary Supplement

‘Wickedly witty.’ — The Daily Mail

‘As farfetched and literary as Sayers’ — Cambridge Companion on Crime Fiction

If you loved this mystery by Michael Innes, check out our Crime Classics community here.

More from Michael Innes...

Buying options for Appleby Talks

amazon-uk Buy hardcopy from Amazon UK amazon-us Buy hardcopy from Amazon US amazon-uk Buy eBook from Amazon UK amazon-us Buy eBook from Amazon US