Cargo of Eagles

Cargo of Eagles
Purchase Now ›
Margery Allingham
15 October 2015
Agora Books

Cargo of Eagles is part of Margery Allingham’s Albert Campion mystery series.

Strange things are happening in Saltey. The little village on the Essex coast is invaded by bikers and a parade of peculiar visitors; a newly-released prisoner is rumoured to be in the area, Mr Lugg has bought a bungalow there, the Saltey Demon is on the loose again, and Albert Campion is investigating the disappearance of thousands of pounds of gold coinage.

This is the last of the Allingham novels, overflowing with evil arch villains and classic thuggery against the atmospheric backdrop of post-war East London.

Cargo of Eagles was first published in 1968 and was completed by Philip Youngman Carter.


Spending an evening with Campion is one of life’s pure pleasures’ The Sunday Times

The best of mystery writers’ The New Yorker

The Campion series as a whole demonstrates the breadth of what’s possible in a crime novel, and Allingham’s restlessness with the genre’s constraints.’ Sarah Weinman, The Wall Street Journal

‘Margery Allingham stands out like a shining light.’ — Agatha Christie

‘My very favourite of the four Queens of crime is Allingham’ — JK Rowling

‘Margery Allingham deserves to be rediscovered.’ — PD James

If you loved Cargo of Eagles by Margery Allingham, check out our Crime Classics community here.

More from Margery Allingham...

Buying options for Cargo of Eagles

amazon-us Buy hardcopy from Amazon US amazon-uk Buy eBook from Amazon UK