Do Not Disturb

Do Not Disturb
 
Helen McCloy
 
12 May 2022
 
English
 
Agora Books
 
9781914905643
 

From the author of the Basil Willing series, Do Not Disturb is a tense and terrifying thriller set in 1940s New York.

Edith Talbot feels down on her luck, and even a little on edge, in the Big Apple. Recently divorced and returned from Paris, she just needs a place to stay for a few nights. But with everywhere booked up by the US Army, the only place she can find is the Hotel Majestic where she is begrudgingly given Room 1404.

With sobbing coming from the next room, Edith isn’t sure her room will provide the respite she’s looking for, and after disregarding a Do Not Disturb sign and a finding a dead body in her own room, Edith finds herself on the run – but from what she’s not even sure.

When everyone seems like they’re out to get her, who can Edith truly trust with her life?

Perfect for fans of Hitchcock and Buchan’s The Thirty-Nine Steps, this classic thriller will have readers on the edge of their seats until its hair-raising conclusion.

PRAISE FOR DO NOT DISTURB

‘Engaging heroine—who does most of sleuthing – many shivery and exciting sequences, continuous action, and extra good writing.’ — Saturday Review of Literature

‘One of [McCloy’s] most startling efforts.’ — Hartford Courant


If you love Helen McCloy, check out our Crime Classics community HERE and our other Uncrowned Queens of Crime HERE.

More from Helen McCloy...

Buying options for Do Not Disturb

 

Cancel