Malice in Wonderland

Malice in Wonderland
Purchase Now ›
Nicholas Blake
19 July 2017
Agora Books

Malice in Wonderland is part of Nicholas Blake’s Nigel Strangeways mystery series.  

Tampered pianos, Tennis balls dipped in treacle, and mysterious forces pulling idle swimmers underwater, the ‘Mad Hatter’ is wreaking havoc at Wonderland summer camp and his pranks are getting dangerous.

Private detective Nigel Strangeways receives a call for help from Wonderland, a new holiday camp that has recently opened only to be plagued by a series of cruel practical jokes conducted by someone calling themselves ‘The Mad Hatter’.

The camp’s owners are convinced a rival firm, desperate to put them out of business, are behind the events. But with four hundred guests staying at the camp, an angry hermit and plenty of disgruntled employees who is the Mad Hatter?

Malice in Wonderland was originally published in 1940.


‘…adds to its author’s usual distinctions of style, plot and character.’ — Sunday Times

‘His plots are ingenious.’ — Times Literary Supplement

‘A master of detective fiction.’ — Daily Telegraph

‘The Nicholas Blake books are something quite by themselves in English detective fiction.’ — Elizabeth Bowen

If you loved this mystery by Nicholas Blake, check out our Crime Classics community here.

More from Nicholas Blake...

Buying options for Malice in Wonderland

amazon-us Buy hardcopy from Amazon US amazon-us Buy eBook from Amazon US