The Beckoning Lady

The Beckoning Lady
Purchase Now ›
Margery Allingham
15 October 2015
Agora Books

The Beckoning Lady is part of Margery Allingham’s Albert Campion mystery series.

Private detective Albert Campion’s glorious summer in Pontisbright is blighted by death. Amidst the preparations for Minnie and Tonker Cassand’s fabulous summer party a murder is discovered and it falls to Campion to unravel the intricate web of motive, suspicion and deduction with all his imagination and skill.

Danger is hardly unknown in this idyllic Suffolk village, but it is a less romantic peril than on Mr Campion’s first visit, more than twenty years ago.

The Beckoning Lady was first published in 1955.


‘Margery Allingham has precious few peers and no superiors’ The Sunday Times

‘Allingham’s work is always of the first rank’ The New York Times

‘Unforgettable.’ AS Byatt

‘Margery Allingham stands out like a shining light.’ — Agatha Christie

‘My very favourite of the four Queens of crime is Allingham’ — JK Rowling

‘Margery Allingham deserves to be rediscovered.’ — PD James

‘Spending an evening with Campion is one of life’s pure pleasures’ — The Sunday Times

If you loved this mystery by Margery Allingham, check out our Crime Classics community here.

More from Margery Allingham...

Buying options for The Beckoning Lady

amazon-us Buy hardcopy from Amazon US amazon-us Buy eBook from Amazon US