The China Governess

Purchase Now ›
Margery Allingham
15 October 2015
Agora Books

Timothy Kinnit needs the help of private detective Albert Campion. Kinnit is rich, handsome and successful, but his past is a mystery to him. When he learns, on the eve of his elopement, that he is adopted he must question everything he thought he knew.

In desperate search of answers, Kinnit calls on Campion to shed some light on his past, and how it connects him to the notorious Turk Street Mile slum. Meanwhile, his illustrious adopted family has a sinister secret of its own – involving a murderous nineteenth-century governess – that must also be brought to light by Campion’s investigations.


The China Governess was first published in 1962.


Reviews for Margery Allingham – 

‘Allingham’s work is always of the first rank’ –New York Times

‘Unforgettable.’ –A.S. Byatt

‘Margery Allingham was one of the greatest mid-20th-century practitioners of the detective novel.’ -Alexander McCall Smith

‘Margery Allingham deserves to be rediscovered’ -P.D. James

More from Margery Allingham...

Buying options for The China Governess

amazon-us Buy hardcopy from Amazon US amazon-us Buy eBook from Amazon US nook Buy from Nook