The Daffodil Affair

The Daffodil Affair
Purchase Now ›
Michael Innes
8 December 2017
Agora Books

The Daffodil Affair is part of Michael Innes’ Inspector Appleby mystery series.

Light after light goes out, including two luminaries from Scotland Yard.

In the midst of the Blitz, a house in Bloomsbury disappears. In York and London, two young girls have been kidnapped. And in Harrogate, a cab horse named Daffodil has gone missing.

Appleby is sent to look into the Daffodil affair, while vice detective Hudspith investigates the cases of human trafficking. But they must work in tandem to piece this mystery together. And they soon find that the links among the disappearances are odder than they could possibly imagine: the house is haunted, one is girl a witch, the other has multiple personalities, and the horse can count. Whoever is behind this is trafficking in marvels.

Appleby and Hudspith pursue their victims deep into the South American jungle where they discover the terrifying sprawl of this bizarre vision. Surrounded by rivers filled with alligators and the swirling mist of the Amazon, the pair are confronted with questions of magic and the supernatural. But when the madman’s machinations turn to the two police officers, Appleby must race against the clock to stop this weird experiment before it costs him his life.

The Daffodil Affair was original published in 1942.


“Mr. Innes is in a class by himself among detective story writers.” – Times Literary Supplement

“Fascinating, highly unusual, and very satisfying.” — NetGalley Reviewer

“Escape literature at its finest.” — NetGalley Reviewer

“A blend of Agatha Christie and Sherlock Holmes.” — NetGalley Reviewer

If you loved this mystery by Michael Innes, check out our Crime Classics community here.

More from Michael Innes...

Buying options for The Daffodil Affair

amazon-uk Buy hardcopy from Amazon UK amazon-us Buy hardcopy from Amazon US amazon-uk Buy eBook from Amazon UK amazon-us Buy eBook from Amazon US