The Dreadful Hollow

The Dreadful Hollow
Purchase Now ›
Nicholas Blake
11 December 2017
Agora Books

The Dreadful Hollow is part of Nicholas Blake’s Nigel Strangeways mystery series.


Prior’s Umborne was a poisoned village, no doubt about that.

The small town of Prior’s Umborne is alive with gossip and accusation. A rash of poison pen letters has been sent to some of the inhabitants. Bleeding out buried secrets from the recipients’ pasts, the letters have already driven one man to take his own life.

With fear and suspicion spreading like wildfire, Private Investigator Nigel Strangeways is called in by Sir Archibald Blick, a wealthy businessman with his own set of enemies, to determine who is behind these malicious letters.

But as Nigel becomes a part of village life, he uncovers more than just the author of these deadly notes. When another body is discovered, Nigel must work quickly to untangle a web of family secrets and rivalry, love triangles and ultimatums before old grudges claim another life.

The Dreadful Hollow
was first published in 1953.




“A master of detective fiction” – Daily Telegraph

“Another fascinating, riveting tale.” – Reader Review



If you loved this mystery by Nicholas Blake, check out our Crime Classics community here.

More from Nicholas Blake...

Buying options for The Dreadful Hollow

amazon-us Buy hardcopy from Amazon US amazon-us Buy eBook from Amazon US