The Morning After Death

The Morning After Death
Purchase Now ›
Nicholas Blake
28 January 2021
Agora Books

The Morning After Death is part of Nicholas Blake’s Nigel Strangeways mystery series.  


While undertaking some research at an Ivy League university outside of Boston, Nigel encounters the Ahlberg brothers: Chester, a tutor, Mark, an English lecturer, and their half-brother Josiah, a professor of Classics.

But when Josiah’s body is found, Strangeways becomes entangled in the case. His investigation uncovers the incestuous politics of sibling rivalry, academic pedantry, and amorous passions that have engulfed an intimate circle of friends. And as Nigel looks deeper, he doesn’t realise just how close to the killer he is.


The Morning After Death was first published in 1966 as is the last in the Nigel Strangeways mysteries.




“something quite by themselves in English detective fiction.” — Elizabeth Bowen

“an extremely accomplished novelist with the rare ability to understand people whose psyches are a mess and, at the same time, to write about them without ever losing his own balance or lightness of touch” — The New Yorker

“his writing is always a pleasure” — Daily Telegraph

“all his characters literally leap to life” — Spectator

“the writing is a joy and the detection treatment first-class” — Sunday Chronicle



If you loved this mystery by Nicholas Blake, check out our Crime Classics community here.

More from Nicholas Blake...

Buying options for The Morning After Death

amazon-us Buy hardcopy from Amazon US amazon-us Buy eBook from Amazon US