Waiting for Orders

Waiting for Orders
Purchase Now ›
Eric Ambler
23 September 2016
Agora Books

Introduced by the author himself, the Eric Ambler Waiting for Orders collection contains a wartime short, a vignette of six cases, and a political thriller.

‘The Army of the Shadows’ (1939) was written while Ambler himself was waiting for orders to join the wartime effort. Originally published in The Queen’s Book of the Red Cross in order to raise funds for the Red Cross, it is a thrilling portrayal of wartime Europe.

‘The Intrusions of Dr Czissar’ (1940) contains six mini cases featuring the refugee Czech detective, Dr Czissar. And finally, the Central American based political thriller ‘The Blood Bargain’ (1972) is an episode from a self-proclaimed ‘failed novel’.

Brilliant and tense, these stories are a perfect introduction to the life and writing of one of the greatest thriller writers.

Waiting for Orders was originally published in 1991.


‘The source on which we all draw.’ – John le Carré

‘Unquestionably our best thriller writer.’ – Graham Greene

‘Today Ambler’s influence remains strong and his writing is as fresh as ever. I urge you to read the books of the man who lit the way for us all.’ – Len Deighton

If you loved Waiting for Orders by Eric Ambler, check out our Crime Classics community here.

More from Eric Ambler...

Buying options for Waiting for Orders

amazon-uk Buy hardcopy from Amazon UK amazon-uk Buy eBook from Amazon UK itunes Buy from iTunes nook Buy from Nook kobo Buy eBook from Kobo